The LORD, The God of Hosts

Posted: June 21, 2016 in Journals

For behold, he who forms the mountains and creates the wind, and declares to man what is his thought, who makes the morning darkness, and treads on the heights of the earth- the LORD, the God of hosts, is his name! (Amos 4:13)

Israel has turned its back on God. And the Lord dealt with their transgression, punishing them with plagues, pestilence, enemies all around; with hunger and thirst and famine. Still, they did not return to the Lord. They did not seek His face. They did not repent of their evil deeds. Therefore the Lord swore to make His name known to them. And He has a mighty name. He knows man’s very thoughts, He formed the world and directed the wind where it should go. He is Almighty.

This is the same God I worship – the God who made Himself known to me and had mercy on me, saving me from my own sins. This is the same God I have come to love so deeply – only because He first loved me. This is the same God I have come to grow so fond of talking to – the truest friend I would ever have. This is the God whose story I yearn to tell to everyone who comes along my way – the wondrous story of His greatness, and His immeasurable compassion. The LORD, the God of hosts, is His name.

Let my heart never forget how much You have done for me, Lord. I know my heart – it is deceitful, and shortsighted. I can easily get dazzled by the sights of the world. Do not let me. Imprint upon me ever so clearly Your greatness. Let my gaze be ever so fixed upon You alone, Lord.

Leave a Reply

