Red Apples

Posted: June 15, 2016 in Uncategorized

I knew what I wanted all along: big, bright red apples. Vendors of all kinds of fruits passed by me all the time, and each time I ask them, “Do you have big, bright red apples?”

“No, but I have fresh oranges instead,” said the first one to pull her cart by.

I smiled politely and said, “No, thank you. I’m looking for red apples.” All day long, several others walked passed, offering to sell fruits. And each time, I asked them for red apples. Some had mangoes to offer, some grapes. One even had green apples to sell. But I knew I was looking for red apples, and that no other fruit would seem right to buy.

Finally, an old lady pushing her cart came by, and I saw what I’ve been looking for: big, bright red apples. I excitedly asked her for it. “Miss, how much would you ask for these red apples?” She gave her price, and I took out a bill.

She paused, looked at what I’m giving her, and slowly shook her head. “I have no change for that yet,” she said. While still debating in my head on where I could find a smaller bill, the lady pushed her cart and started to walk away. Soon, she was gone.

I was puzzled. Was she gone for good? Or would she be back to give me my red apples once she had enough change for my bill? A part of me thought I should just wait around until she comes back. But a part of me also thought I should give up on the red apples altogether and just crawl back to bed and sleep. Because what if other buyers along the way had already bought her apples? Those were really good fruits. A part of me thinks waiting for it is futile. But I couldn’t know for sure.

Leave a Reply

