Grafted Into The Tree

Posted: June 15, 2016 in Journals

and I will sow her for myself in the land. And I will have mercy on No Mercy, and I will say to Not My People, ‘You are my people’; and he shall say, ‘You are my God.'” (Hosea 2:23)

Israel is to be punished for deserting the Lord. Still, after their period of punishment, the Lord will show mercy. He will reclaim them, make them His own once more. Not My People will be told “You are my People.” The rejected shall be welcomed into the fold of God’s pasture. The rebel shall be accepted into the kingdom of God. The promise shall be renewed–and this time, it shall stand.

Like a withering tree restored to its former health was Israel. And like branches of different trees grafted into the olive tree, so are we, the non-Jews, engrafted to be among the People of God. He has extended this new promise to us, when formerly we were left in the dark. Now we have found light, and life abundant, only by grace. When formerly I have been an outcast, now I am a child of the Living God. When before I have no portion in the Lord, now He is my sole inheritance. What a gracious gift to give a vile sinner and hopeless rebel as I! Indeed, Lord, You are amazing.

Do not let me be complacent like the Israel, Lord. Do not let my heart turn aside to other idols. Do not let me lose faithfulness towards You. Do not let my heart love anything or anyone above You. Make me wholly thine, my God and King. Here’s my heart–it’s been broken enough already. So I pray, here’s my heart–o take and seal it, seal it for Thy courts above.”

Leave a Reply

