His Great Mercy

Posted: June 10, 2016 in Journals

O my God, incline your ear and hear. Open your eyes and see our desolations, and the city that is called by your name. For we do not present our pleas before you because of our righteousness, but because of your great mercy. (Daniel 9:8)

Daniel was told in visions of what is to come in the end of times, and he saw destruction, desolation, because of sin. He did not justify the wicked acts. He did not feign innocence. He humbly and contritely confessed his sin and the sin of his people. The LORD was about to bring a punishment. Daniel entreated the Lord’s favor, not because of the people’s righteousness–for they have none–but because of His great mercy.

We too have no righteousness of our own. We too are filthily covered in transgression. We too are as rebellious. We have no claim over God’s deliverance. Yet, he saved us. His mercies are new every morning because of His great faithfulness towards His promises. “He has promised to receive us, poor and sinful though we be.” And He did. He sent His Son for us to be delivered from our iniquities, that His name may be glorified.

I come before you, Lord, not as one who claims righteousness and perfection, but as one who is sinful and filthy, in need of cleansing. And I come before You because I know that because of Your great mercies, You shall incline Your ear and hear me. I pray, be with me. Let Your presence be continually made aware to me. Sin and enemies lurk within me and around me. I pray, save me and keep me from falling out of Your path.

image

Leave a Reply

