Serving the Almighty God

Posted: June 8, 2016 in Journals

And to him was given dominion and glory and a kingdom, that all peoples, nations, and languages should serve him; his dominion is an everlasting dominion, which shall not pass away, and his kingdom one that shall not be destroyed. (Daniel 7:14)

This is the beginning of Daniel’s series of visions. The first among several and strong images of the end of times. It was the setting vision, the one that paves the way for the others, in one way of another. And the scene was that of God’s glory. His majesty and power over all dominion was displayed. And it has been made known to us that we may serve him wholly.

You are mighty and majestic, Lord. You hold dominion over all. You need nothing and no one. And yet You chose to reveal Yourself to me, to include me into Your dominion that is without end. You chose to put me into Your everlasting kingdom, where I am to dwell securely forever. And the only call for me is to serve you wholeheartedly. How can I ignore such great truth, I ask? How can I ever neglect Your strong call, Lord? You have given me everything. Even my serving you isn’t something You needed, but it was for my sake that You commanded that. You have gained dominions over all. How could I ever deny service to this mighty King? I wouldn’t. I shouldn’t. I /couldn’t/. “Jesus calls us o’er the tumult of our lives’ wild, restless sea; Day by day His sweet voice soundeth, saying ‘Christian, follow me.'”

You’re calling me to serve you, Lord. “By thy mercies, Savior, may [I] hear thy call… Serve and love Thee best of all!” This is my prayer. This is my courageous request made in Your wondrous and mighty name. Let me serve You wholly. Hear me.

Leave a Reply

