A Beautiful Inheritance

Posted: June 2, 2016 in Journals

“This shall be their inheritance: I am their inheritance: and you shall give them no possession in Israel; I am their possession. (Ezekiel 44:28)

When Israel entered the Promise Land, lots have been cast and the territory was divided accordingly among the tribes of Israel. But to the Levites, no land is given as possession. They are the chosen tribe to serve the LORD in His holy temple; that was their inheritance. They are given a city from every tribe’s territory for them to dwell in, but their possession is the priesthood, being called and set apart to do the work of God.

We too are priests after our Savior, Jesus Christ. As Peter puts it, “you yourselves like living stones are being built up as a spiritual house, to be a holy priesthood, to offer spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.” (I Peter 2:5) We are priests of the New Covenant in the sense that we can commune with God directly, and not through mediums, channels, or sacrifices. We can talk to Him as we would to a friend–without the need for incense and burnt offerings. He is our inheritance. He is our portion. And the lines have fallen for us in pleasant places.

I have a beautiful inheritance in You, Lord. Let me find complete contentment in this thought. Be my portion forever. Do not let me forsake the greatest treasure for the more temporal ones. Do not let me lose sight of the most precious thing. Do not let me forget how priceless is the possession you have given to me.

Leave a Reply

