I Have Found Love

Posted: June 22, 2015 in Poems
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve once roamed in many wastelands
and wandered in many wildernesses
in search for all clues and answers
to the question most unsettling.

I traveled far and wide for it,
inquiring from every kingdom.
‘Midst all the conflicting concepts,
which, I ask, is true about love?

Some say one, some say another.
It’s all heartache, says the pessimist;
we need it not, says the feminist,
but for romantics it’s all bliss.

Many would say it’s plain emotion,
and scientists claim it’s brain reaction.
Yet for Catholics it may be charity,
and for Hindus it may be duty.

But only when I went to the holy place
did I discern its real meaning.
Only when I heard God’s blessed word
did I find out–love’s so much deeper.

It isn’t that topsy-turvy romance
the young people usually describe.
It isn’t the skipping of heartbeat,
nor the fluttering of the stomach.

But it’s the Father sending salvation
to those who once rebelled against Him.
It’s the Son descending on humble earth
to wash His people’s feet.

Love–it’s Christ gathering lost souls to Him,
teaching them ever patiently the way;
knowing fully all their darkest thoughts
yet still bearing their flaws perfectly.

I have searched far and wide for the truth
and now have been confronted by it.
But as I try to grasp it fully, I knew:
it is too high. I cannot attain it.

It transcends all of human wisdom,
it evades my very knowledge.
It’s something I’d never even deserve,
and yet, somehow, I’ve completely owned it.

Leave a Reply

