Going On Circles

Posted: June 16, 2015 in Poems
Tags: , ,

First, there was silence.
Then you would cross the line–
from strangers, we would be acquainted.
You’d say hi, how you doing.
You’d smile, you’d joke around.
You’d make me grow fond of you.
Like you. Admire you.
Eventually, fall for you.
And when all is said and done for me
you would retreat.
Grow cold. Drift away.
Walk out of my life.
You’d show me I’ll never be good enough.
And then you’d leave me there, hanging.
Just like that.
And I’d be miserable. Broken.
I’d deem myself irreparable.
Until another one like you comes along
and the cycle goes on again.

Leave a Reply

