What Used To Be

Posted: February 19, 2015 in Poems
Tags: , , ,

“Let’s take a picture!” I heard you say.
I turned around, took a step or two,
but then remembered: things have change today–
many were altered, and forgotten too.

I remember quite distinctly
how you used to see me every morning.
I see the way you used to smile at me
and hug me whenever I feel crying.

But what used to be a smile so genuine
is now nothing but a forced, dry one.
What used to be a hug so comforting
is now just a handshake, with all warmth gone.

All those memories we made together
dissolved into nothing but vague dreams;
those meaningful talks, those nonsense chatter–
all of them vanished like a dried-up stream.

And then there used to be us in the pictures
in all events–even uneventful days.
But now it seems we have on us strictures;
we avoid each other in many ways.

And the saddest part is that I don’t know
how this nightmare replaced my perfect dream.
You drifted away with reasons you won’t show,
and my heart could only silently scream.

Photo credit: imgkid.com

Leave a Reply

