Nothing More

Posted: February 15, 2015 in Poems
Tags: ,

When I saw you from a distance,
my heart isn’t with nonchalance.
Our eyes locked, we greeted with a smile,
and my heartbeat echoed for a mile.

(But I’m just a friend and nothing more.)

As we walked down the path together,
our voices were full of laughter.
Each moment with you, though they be fleeting,
makes my cares seem to be fleeing.

(But I’m just a friend and nothing more.)

We share our secrets, our deepest thoughts;
we see each other’s mind like open doors.
When you hold my hand and hug me tight,
my messed-up world becomes alright.

(But I’m just a friend and nothing more.)

I see you as one who’s strong as stone,
someone whose shoulder I could cry on.
But when these tears flow and you ask, “What’s wrong?”
I’d tell you all but the foremost reason.

(Because I’m just a friend–nothing more.)

And if you’d ask me how a guy should be
for a lovely girl to really like him,
I’d break inside, but I’d answer with a smile,
“Do these, and her heartbeat would echo for miles.”

(‘Cause I’m just a friend, wishing to be so much more.)

Photo credit: pixgood.com

Comments

Leave a Reply

