The Assurance Within

Posted: November 23, 2014 in Poems
Tags: , , , ,

God knows we can’t be perfect on earth;
O my soul, why then do you despair?
The Lord understands we’re weak from birth;
Why then doubt his grace and loving care?

The Lord saves man not based on their works;
My soul, why do you doubt His promise?
God forgives, as was said in His Word;
Why tolerate those doubting feelings?

Know that the Lord, He is merciful;
Know this, that Christ Jesus is gracious.
In mercy, God forgives the sinful;
In grace He pardons the rebellious.

Why am I in turmoil inside me?
Oh my soul, I tell you, doubt no more!
Do you not see God’s ability
To change you down to your very core?

O my spirit, why has peace left you?
Believe God when He says He forgives.
Salvation’s joy, where have you gone to?
Hope in Christ, in the grace that He gives.

Doubt not, and no longer be cast down.
Depend upon Christ, and Christ alone
That on You, God may smile and not frown.
Cling, my soul, to His merciful throne.
© Rebekah Mambiar. All rights reserved, 2 years ago

Leave a Reply

