“In Vain” (12.15.2013)

Posted: November 23, 2014 in Uncategorized

My poetic side is awakened all right;
Seriously, I’m in the mood to write.
So I took my pen, made ready my paper,
And waited for words to come, for worse or better.

I was tapping the table all the time,
Waiting for my subject, for brilliant thoughts of mine.
But, oh! The right words never, ever, came.
I may have the mood, but uninspired all the same.

And until I lay down wearily on my bed,
The unwritten poem was still stuck on my head.
I do not have the blessing of the Muses last night
And, thus, in vain were my efforts to write.

Leave a Reply

